Finding The Writer Who Inspires You

cameron crowe.jpg

Photo source: IMDB.com

I’ve recently found that I’ve been lacking inspiration for writing. The past few weeks, I’ve been reading a book about The Brat Pack films, which mostly focuses on the works of John Hughes. The recent chapter, however, focused on the work of renowned screenwriter Cameron Crowe. Crowe, most famous for writing the teen classics Fast Times at Ridgemont High (which happens to be one of my favorite films of all-time) and Say Anything, said this about writing:

“My dream, was always to be a guy who wrote about his generation as he got older, and captured what was going on, so that if you looked at the movies all together you would see a life journey. You would see a big picture of what it’s like to grow up, and grow old, in America.”

This quote stuck with me, as Crowe’s intentions were eerily similar to what I am trying to accomplish now. Most of my writing focuses on life in the late 90’s and early 2000’s, when I grew up. What I’ve really enjoyed about my writing is that it takes me back to those days that I am very fond of. Crowe’s quote reminded me of why I want to write.

This serves as a lesson to all writers who are struggling with finding inspiration and questioning whether they want to pursue writing as a career.  I encourage them to look at some of their favorite writers, and look into their values and reasons for writing. They may see a mirror in these values and sources of inspiration.

After learning about the reasons why Crowe decided to write, I realize that all it takes is passion about work and to know why you want to write. After all, Crowe started out as an unknown, far away from becoming an established writer, just like me. His work became successful, and since mine is similar in intention, I have a chance to become a writer as well.

Leave a Reply

