Thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”

harry potter 8

I was a major Harry Potter fan growing up. I credit those books for making me want to become a writer. I had a cape and a wand. I locked myself in my room for two whole days when the final book came out. Like every true Harry Potter fan, I’m excited about “The Cursed Child.” But I’m also conflicted.

I was pleased with the ending of The Deathly Hallows. I was a little disappointed with a few of the character deaths (R.I.P. Fred Weasley and Hedwig), but I enjoyed the finale. Harry had a family, he was safe and finally happy. It was a good ending to a good series. Apparently, that isn’t the ending, though, as the series will continue. It’s similar to how I felt about Star Wars: I’m glad to see a series I love continue, but sometimes you just need to leave it be and be satisfied with the conclusive ending we were given.

Furthermore, it will be sad to see the suffering of Harry continue. He went through so much in the first seven books, that it was nice to see him in a good place and able to live as a normal wizard at the end of The Deathly Hallows. We can presume that this suffering and hardship will continue, though, since the series continues. Plus, “The Cursed Child” sounds very grim.

Still, it will have been seven years since the release of the previous installment of the Harry Potter franchise. I am excited and will be reading it the day it comes out. I have a lot of faith in J.K. Rowling, and am sure it will be well-written and perfect, like the rest of her books. I’m not 100% on board for the series continuing, but I will still support it. I was very much against Star Wars Episode 7 happening, but really enjoyed it. So hopefully the same will happen with “The Cursed Child.”

 

Leave a Reply

