Writers Who Inspire Me

Trying to conjure up some inspiration to get back on the write track (puns haha) so I decided to think of the writers who made me want to be part of the starving (well, in my case, lots of Costco chicken dinosaurs and pasta) artist’s life.

J.K. Rowling

jk rowling

One of my fondest memories of my childhood was reading the Harry Potter books.  I wish I had the ability to re-read the books for the first time. I would spend days in my room alone, just reading the book. She inspired me, and my generation, to read, which is an amazing accomplishment. She created a phenomenon. Every kid wished they were a wizard, that they could play Quidditch and attend Hogwarts. I know I did. When I was ten years old, it was my goal to write a book series that was as exciting and as magical as Harry Potter.

Joss Whedon

joss whedon

Joss Whedon was the show-runner behind one of my favorite TV series of all-time, Buffy. He wrote most of the landmark episodes of the show, including “Becoming,” which I believe is one of the greatest television episodes of all-time. He wrote and directed The Avengers, one of the greatest superhero movies, and one of the greatest cinematic accomplishments. He knows how to create strong characters. He is one of the few writers who can balance humor and drama perfectly in a story. He’s also shown that action series can be more about the Michael Bay-esque explosions, and that the story is still the most important. I hope to one day write my own teen action series, have the chance to write a Disney movie (he was one of the writers of Toy Story), and write and direct a big budget action film. Joss Whedon has shown me that this is all possible.

Kevin Williamson

Scream will always be one of my favorite movies. I don’t like horror movies, but I admire what Scream did for the horror genre, and cinema in general. It revived the horror genre. It was the perfect mix of humor and horror. Most importantly, it was one of the few horror movies where I was worried about the safety of the main characters. Sidney Prescott was relate-able. The Scream stories were about her coping with her mother’s death and becoming strong and independent. Kevin Williamson showed me that horror movies can be good stories, with the right mix of characters and relate-able drama. Shortly after the first film, he created Dawson’s Creek. Although I find the series a bit overdramatic and unrealistic, it was very impactful on teen television. It was one of the first shows to deal with real teens and their problems. Its success spawned other teen classics I watched, including Gossip Girl, The O.C. and Smallville.

John Hughes

john hughes

I’ve never seen a writing portfolio as expansive as that of John Hughes. He wrote dozens of movies. My most favorite were Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, Christmas Vacation, and Mr. Mom. He’s most known for his so-called “Brat Pack” films, but his stories impacted viewers of all ages. “Home Alone,” “Plains, Trains and Automobiles,” “Maid in Manhattan.” I hope to write family movies one day, and to have an expansive resume like him, although a far-reaching goal, is something to aspire to.

Leave a Reply

